Teaching Science with Cartoons!

I know that I am an adult, but I have a love for cartoons. I think this love comes from my dad – one of his all time favorite movies is Ice Age. He watches it EVERY time it is on t.v. (of course he also passed on his love of Star Trek, but that is for another post). Anyway, today I want to share some of the videos that I have used throughout this year to introduce or reinforce some concepts.

Ice Age – Continental Drift Scrat

I used this video to introduce the idea of continental drift and the Theory of Plate Tectonics. It is of course not factual, but a very fun way to introduce this idea. We also go back and analyze the video afterwards and replace the fiction from the video with our scientific evidence.

Lava

This has been my most requested repeat video this year. I used this after we studied the ocean floor. It of course shows in slow motion how seamount islands are created.

Finding Nemo – Angler Fish Clip

After learning about the layers of the ocean I used this video to discuss the dark zone in the ocean. We also discussed how animals created their own light using bio-luminescence. Nemo is always a winner with my students.

Finding Nemo – Crush

I didn’t get to use this clip this year, but we did talk about it while we discussed currents. I think it is neat to see what currents might be like inside the ocean.

That’s All Folks!

Those were all the ideas I have so far, but I am sure as the year continues I will have more to add. Do you have any cartoons you have used in your science class?

 

Leave a Reply

